A Trip to Istanbul

IMG_6550

I returned to Berlin from a weekend trip to Istanbul, sorry that I had to leave so soon. It is a bustling, beautiful, and cultural city which I’m sure one could spend weeks exploring. At heart it is an ancient city, spanning the Roman, Byzantine, and Ottoman empires. This fact is prominent at the Hagia Sophia Museum, which at different times in history served as both a church and a mosque:

IMG_6518IMG_6491IMG_6520IMG_1359

Istanbul actually spans two continents, divided by the Bosphorus strait. Thanks to a quick ferry ride, I can now say I’ve been to Asia! 🙂

It was a truly great opportunity to learn about and immerse myself in such a different culture, if only for a few days. I think that everyone should highly consider traveling to Istanbul! I definitely would love to go back back some day. For now, please enjoy it vicariously through my many pictures:

A Turkish breakfast & Turkish delight:

A cruise along the Bosphorus:

Istanbul Modern Art Museum:

The spice market & the Grand Bazaar:

And finally, I couldn’t resist taking a few pictures of the many stray cats of Istanbul:

 

 

Leave a Reply

